The penalties for a DWI charge can vary depending on the details of your situation. How far over the legal limit was your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)? Is this your first offense or a repeat charge? Was anyone else injured as a result of your reckless driving? These factors will determine the severity of the charge against you and the penalties associated with that.
Missouri DWI Offenses and Penalties
You need to have an understanding of how the state will decide what action to take when considering the specifics of your offense. Typically, the penalties for a DWI in Missouri are as follows:
- First Offense? A Class B misdemeanor, you could face a minimum of 48 hours of jail time up and the maximum jail sentence, which is 6 months. In addition to jail time, this can also come with a 30-day license suspension and fines of up to $500.
- Second Offense? You will likely be charged with a "prior offender” or class A misdemeanor, where a minimum of 5 to 10 days up to 1-year of jail time and/or community service must be served. Additionally, you can expect fines of up to $1,000 and license revocation of up to a year.
- Third, Fourth, or Fifth Offense? Beyond 2 prior convictions, additional DWI charges will recognize you as a "persistent offender" and come with felony charges. You may receive between two to four years of jail time, community service, fines of up to $5,000, multiple years of license revocation, if not indefinite license suspension.
The severity of the penalties you will have to face, and whether or not you will be eligible to expunge your misdemeanor will depend on the nature of your charges and if any injuries or property damage resulted from you driving while intoxicated.
Regardless of the circumstances surrounding your DWI, you don't have to face this situation alone. I will provide you with strong legal representation and support to minimize the damage this charge has on your future. Call today for a free consultation to discover how my experience can work for you.